The importance of a traveling companion

Me and Chris, Anzac Memorial

This has been my less stressful overseas trip ever. I’m not especially well-travelled – I’ve done the US and Canada, the UK, France and Germany a couple of times, but in my somewhat limited experience this trip has been by far the best. Partly because I already know my way around Sydney having lived here, but also because, for the first time, I’m travelling with a local.

Travel companions make all the difference. Australia is relatively easy for South Africans, of course: they speak English, drive on the left hand side of the road, and being in the southern hemisphere, the seasons are more or less the same. But it does make a huge difference when you’re travelling with someone who knows how to use public transport, where to find good restaurants, and can drive you from place to place so you’re not always reliant on buses. (Chris did all the driving from Melbourne to Adelaide.)

Chris points at beer

I first met Chris back in 2009 after he read one of my Thought Leader blogs about my loneliness in Sydney. We remained friends once I returned to South Africa, and this trip was our first meeting in four years. He’s between jobs, so the timing was great: he didn’t need to take leave to show me around. We’ve certainly made up for all those years of Youtube links and distracted Facebook messages.

Scratch kangaroos

Chris grew up in Cape Town and, for various reasons, emigrated to Australia at around the same time I did.  He’s incredibly bright, a walking encyclopedia and, in a complete overturning of so-called gender norms,  talks more than I do. We have similar interests – cute animals, lolcats, design, architecture, military aircraft, cars (we talk a lot about cars)  – and he knows an enormous amount about movies and music. But for a gaping hole in our knowledge of sport, we’d make a pretty good quiz team.

Chris with dog

It can be intense being with somebody almost constantly, especially when for budget reasons you’re sharing a room (yes, it is possible for a straight man and woman to just be friends). But we’re both affable, and even when I get terse and moody from time to time (Monday’s kangaroo petting exercise was not a great success for me), we make it work. We know each other well, but not so well that we aren’t polite to each other – and maintaining a level of politeness is essential if you’re going to live on top of one another for two weeks.

Chris challenges me in ways that are good, always showing me something interesting and new. The quality of his thinking is always good, and he has rejected many aspects of our sanitized, credit-funded,  overmarketed culture in ways that I find interesting. He’s always worth a good conversation. If I’ve come to enjoy a trip that I’d been dreading, much of that credit goes to him.

Us with a koala

11 thoughts on “The importance of a traveling companion

  1. Sean Shannon

    Chris looks like a top bloke. Great that he’s made your trip so enjoyable! I will gladly fill the sports gap in your quiz team!

    Reply
    1. Sarah Britten Post author

      Ha! I’ve read of this research before and I don’t think it casts much light on lived human experience (yes, I know you posted it tongue in cheek). Interesting that science spends so much energy extrapolating findings from university undergraduates (who are not yet mature, and, in the case of men, at their sexual peak) onto the general population.

      Reply
      1. PM

        In case you are wondering just how odd US psychology undergraduates are, here is a research paper on the subject: “The WEIRDest people in the World?”

        WEIRD stands for Western Educated Industrialized Rich Democratic. (bottom line–the rest of the world is not like us, not even in things that we think are universally human traits like fairness, reciprocity, etc.)

        http://www2.psych.ubc.ca/~henrich/pdfs/Weird_People_BBS_final02.pdf

  2. PM

    BTW, let me know what you think of the Taronga Zoo, particularly the Childrens discovery Center– I know the designer.

    Reply
  3. Joe

    “I’m not especially well-travelled – I’ve done the US and Canada, the UK, France and Germany a couple of times”

    Wow! Done the US! I’ve have lived in the US for 15 years, actually residing in the Midwest, Southwest, and Northwest and i could not say that I have “done the US” even once – never mind a couple of times. With 50 states and each state with mutiple cities and points-of-interest!

    I lived in SA for 38 years, and SA is pretty much SA, but I would not consider myself as having done it all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

