I was there

Today I made a new friend, a young woman who is commissioning a painting from me. We had a late breakfast and talked about the meaning of life. She isn’t yet sure what she wants, but she told me that she is obsessed with lampposts. Perhaps a lamppost on a pier would be suitable?

So I googled “lamppost on pier” and this appeared:

And something marvelous struck me: that I have been to Glenelg in South Australia, and stood near this pier, and looked out onto the ocean. The scene below isn’t quite Glenelg; it’s a little further north, at Henley Beach, where Chris and I watched the sun set on Easter Sunday. There’s something strangely moving about this, about finding an image and feeling a flash of recognition, as though I’d seen a minor celebrity in a crowd. Perhaps this is why we travel. Not just for the experience itself, which is fleeting, but so we can look back and say: I have been in the world.

I was there.

Sunset Adelaide

One thought on “I was there

Leave a Reply

