Christmas in Knysna: part 2

Christmas started with us sleeping late. Since we both got to bed at about 1am after midnight mass, I thought this was allowed. The first thing I did on getting up was write out Christmas cards for Laura and the B&B hosts.

Then we had breakfast. This frittata was pretty good. Tim Noakes would approve.

Laura Christmas breakfastI went off for Christmas on the rocks.

Christmas on the rocksThe suck and sigh of the sea here at The Heads is therapeutic. I enjoy just sitting and listening, watching the changing shades of green.

Christmas sea

This was my view while I spoke to my parents and wished them Merry Christmas.

Christmas viewWhile I was enjoying the view, I got a message from Laura telling me that a boomslang had been spotted in the garden. Here’s Friedel trying to locate it using a pool cleaner.

Friedel looks for the snake

I didn’t get a good look at it so can’t be sure it was a boomslang. Whatever it was, it moved incredibly quickly. I named it Harold, in honour of Doris the scorpion. I wasn’t able to get a photo of it, so here’s a Christmas shongololo instead:

shongololo

Then it was off to Pezula for Christmas lunch. This, as it turned out, was not the correct venue. Nonetheless, the man there showed us to a table and we sat, bemused at being surrounded by screaming kids, cheap crackers and grenadine cocktails.

Pezula Golf club

“Google it,” I said. This can’t be right. Eventually we asked if there was a, erm, another venue. It turned out we should have gone to the hotel. This was the right venue. Here I am in the red dress I packed just so that I would look suitably Christmassy:

Me at Christmas lunch

This is the menu:

Pezula menu

Here are our starters. Pea soup for me, crocodile for Laura.

Pezula starters

These are the mains (turkey for me, fish for Laura):

Pezula Mains

And finally, dessert, which was the best of the three courses:

Pezula dessert

After lunch, we admired this view:

Pezula view

and then rolled home down the hill. On the way, my brother Charles called via Facetime and I was able to take him on a drive through Knysna while he watched from Swindon. We briefly got lost and ended up in a cul de sac, but it was all very pleasant.

Back at the B&B, I read (We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver) and slept. Later I took another walk to my favourite spot on the rocks, had a swim and a shower, and then chatted to Tessa our host about her cats (Mousey and Ratty) while enjoying some of her mom’s homemade mince pies and fruit cake.

I am now it a carb coma. It was a good day. I hope yours was too.

It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

